Superintendent Kyle Repucci reports that Rochester Public Schools were informed today of a second positive case of COVID-19 at the Rochester Middle School.
The individual that tested positive for the coronavirus and is self-isolating in accordance with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (NH DHHS) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) protocol. The individual will be able to return to school in approximately 10 days as long as they have been cleared by DHHS to do so. Under state and federal privacy laws, no further information is available about the individuals.
As a result, one sixth grade cohort will participate in remote learning until Thursday, Feb. 11. All impacted individuals have been contacted and families have been given instructions for remote learning.
The district announced yesterday that they were notified of a separate positive case of COVID-19 at the Middle School, and as result one of eighth grade teams will participate until in remote learning until Feb. 11.
The district is actively working with and following guidelines from the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). All close contacts (anyone who was within 6 feet of one of the infected individuals for 10 minutes cumulatively, up to two days before the positive test result) have been notified of their possible exposure to the virus and will be required to quarantine for at least 10 days. Specific quarantine plans have been provided to those affected. Those families and staff have been directed to get tested and keep themselves or their children quarantined until 10 days following their last possible exposure. If you did not receive a call, this means you have not been identified as a close contact and you are not required to quarantine.
If you or your child are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19, such as a fever, chills, respiratory illness, aches or change in taste and smell, or believe you have been exposed to someone who has contracted COVID-19, get a COVID-19 test and stay home until you receive your results. Testing can be done either through your primary healthcare provider or at one of the testing sites located throughout the state.
Please note that if you or your child are currently quarantined, you must remain in quarantine for 10 days, even if your test is negative. This is due to the fact that symptoms can present up to two weeks after exposure.
In addition, to prevent further spread of the disease in the community, Rochester Public Schools ask that students, families and staff take the following precautions to prevent the spread of the disease:
- Stay home if you have a fever or are not feeling well. Students should stay home from school should any new or unexplained illness, no matter how mild, develop. This precaution is meant to keep all staff and students safe.
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol if soap and water are not available.
- Avoid close contact with others. When outside your home, please adhere to social distancing guidelines and keep a distance of at least 6 feet between yourself and others.
- Wear a cloth face covering that covers your mouth and nose to protect others when in public areas.
- Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze, then throw the tissue in the trash and wash your hands.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose, or mouth with unwashed hands.
Children may worry about themselves, their family and friends getting sick with COVID-19. Tips for talking to children about COVID-19 can be found here.