Superintendent Kyle Repucci reports that Rochester Public Schools were informed today of a positive case of COVID-19 at Rochester Middle School.
An individual participating in the targeted, in-person learning at Rochester Middle School has tested positive for the coronavirus and is self-quarantining in accordance with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (NH DHHS) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) protocol. The individual will be able to return to school in approximately two weeks, as long as they have been cleared by DHHS to do so. Under state and federal privacy laws, no further information is available about the individual.
At this time, one targeted learning team at Rochester Middle School will be quarantined and engage in remote learning for the next 14 days out of an abundance of caution. The affected individuals have been contacted and sent instructions about remote learning. Remote learning for this group will continue until Dec. 4.
Though the majority of Rochester students transitioned to fully remote learning earlier this month, the district provided an opportunity for some students — including those with multiple education services, who have intensive adult support or whose educational plans cannot be met outside of the school setting — to receive remote instruction or services at a school if needed. All students currently participating in fully remote learning, which will last until Tuesday, Jan. 19, should continue to do so.
The district is actively working with and following guidelines from the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). The district will be working with DHHS to identify and contact all close contacts of the positive individual. Those who are identified as a close contact (anyone who was within 6 feet of the infected individual up to two days prior to the positive test result) will be contacted by DHHS and required to quarantine for at least two weeks. Specific quarantine plans will be provided to those affected. Those families and staff will be directed to get tested and keep themselves or their children quarantined until 14 days following their last possible exposure. If you do not receive a call from DHHS, this means you have not been identified as a close contact and you are not required to quarantine.
If you or your child are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19, such as a fever, chills, respiratory illness, aches or change in taste and smell, or believe you have been exposed to someone who has contracted COVID-19, get a COVID-19 test and stay home until you receive your results. Testing can be done either through your primary healthcare provider or at one of the testing sites located throughout the state.
Please note that if you or your child are currently quarantined, you must remain in quarantine for 14 days, even if your test is negative. This is due to the fact that symptoms can present up to two weeks after exposure.