HomeState of NHNH 911 Encourages AED Registration, Announces Initiative To Make Registering Easier Than...

NH 911 Encourages AED Registration, Announces Initiative To Make Registering Easier Than Ever

The New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Emergency Services and Communications (DESC) proudly announces a new initiative that will make registering new Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) easier than ever for New Hampshire businesses, thanks to collaborative efforts between the PulsePoint Foundation and Google.

On Monday, April 3, 2023, Google will send an email to all businesses in the State of New Hampshire that have created a business profile on their platform, encouraging them to register new AEDs that are not yet in the statewide database. The email will include a link to the PulsePoint AED registration website, where Google will pre-populate the business’ location information, making it easy for business owners to complete the registration process.

There is no action required from businesses that have existing AEDs that have been previously registered with the State of New Hampshire.

“While registering AEDs is required by law in New Hampshire, this partnership between PulsePoint and Google helps tap into businesses and regions of the State that may be otherwise hard to reach,” said Mark Doyle, Director of the Division of Emergency Services and Communications. “Registering an AED today could help save a life tomorrow.”

As an established partner of New Hampshire 911 since May 2022, PulsePoint AED allows users to register publicly available automated external defibrillators (AEDs), which can be located on a map in the app for quick access during a cardiac emergency. Early application of bystander CPR and rapid defibrillation from an AED have proven to be crucial in improving a person’s chance of surviving sudden cardiac arrest.

Anyone deploying an AED in New Hampshire must register it with the Division of Emergency Services and Communications. AEDs can be registered through PulsePoint at http://aed.new, or by downloading the PulsePoint AED app. After an individual or business registers an AED, the Division of Emergency Communications team verifies the registration before updating maps and data that 911 call takers use.

A study, published in the American Heart Association’s journal, Circulation, found that 66 percent of cardiac arrest victims who received a shock from an AED performed a bystander before emergency help arrived survived to hospital discharge. Conversely, without bystander use of a publicly available AED – waiting instead for emergency responders to arrive – 70 percent of cardiac arrest patients died or survived with impaired brain function.

Latest Posts

LISTEN: Marie and Katherine talk Resolutions and Romances

In this episode, Marie and Katherine update listeners on their New Year's resolutions. They...

LISTEN: Matt talks to Bob and Lisa Griffin from the Rochester Historical Society

In this episode, Matt talks to Bob and Lisa Griffin, members of the Rochester...

LISTEN: Frisbie’s Dr. Ken Maynard talks neurosurgery and other medical advancements

In this episode, Matt talks to Dr. Ken Maynard from Frisbie Memorial Hospital about...

Fish and Game: Be Aware, Prepared, and Responsible When Exploring This Spring

Spring in New Hampshire is an exciting time to enjoy the outdoors, and the...

More like this

LISTEN: Matt talks to Bob and Lisa Griffin from the Rochester Historical Society

In this episode, Matt talks to Bob and Lisa Griffin, members of the Rochester...

LISTEN: Frisbie’s Dr. Ken Maynard talks neurosurgery and other medical advancements

In this episode, Matt talks to Dr. Ken Maynard from Frisbie Memorial Hospital about...

Fish and Game: Be Aware, Prepared, and Responsible When Exploring This Spring

Spring in New Hampshire is an exciting time to enjoy the outdoors, and the...